Asset tutorial Prep and Progress

This week I have began preparation for the assists tutorial by starting to experiment with some archive images and images that I have recently taken for the project after having some feedback from peers in the sessions, it was apparent that a good way of showing memory fading was to create an idea of layers of transparent images on top of each other. As a result I’ve spent time on photoshop to create a now and then image of when I was younger to now. As a result of this it shows a layering of images blended together to create one I feel as if this is really subtle but also effective way of showing my idea well. I really like the way that these have turned out as it follows the idea of a photo illusion/ abstraction. It in way tricks the mind into thinking and seeing in a certain way. As one of the aims for my project was to create images that not only carried across my idea but were visually engaging. The meaning behind these images are that the the old baby photographs are slowly become distant memory of past and forgotten due to the apparent rise in popularity of digital technology.

After the Assest tutorial it really prompted me on where to go next with the next steps of developing and finishing the project. We decided next steps for me was to look at ways we can corrupt a image. I like the idea of creating images that evidently have glitches meaning that there is a sudden malfunction or fault. In relation to my project this for me means a sudden loss of memory in the digital age.

The next step is to begin to complete a set of images that I’m completely happy with and once I am I can begin to look at the design process in which I will display these images this can either be on their own or a interactive piece I will begin to have a play around see what I think works best.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started